Leonardo Forum

Unbeantwortetes Thema

Research Internship UMCG, Groningen

Autor Nachricht
Verfasst am: 16. 09. 2019 [10:08]
merve
I am a master student in Neurocognitive Psychology and I started my research internship on the 1st of August in University Medical Center Groningen (UMCG) in the Netherlands.

Internship
I applied for an internship in the UMCG by sending my application via e-mail to the research group that I am interested in. During the application process, I saw that UMCG has a lot of interesting research going on in the area of Cognitive Neuroscience. My project is about auditory verbal hallucinations in schizophrenia and healthy controls. The project provides me the opportunity to gain experience with fMRI data analysis. Weekly lab meetings are also a great opportunity to see what other research groups are working on. Another advantage of the UMCG is that it has a very central location, only 10 min away by walk to the city center.

Accommodation
I started searching for an accommodation in Groningen two months before my arrival. Finding an accommodation is quiet challenging here compared to Germany, especially when it is the beginning of a new semester. There are plenty of student dorms and hotels available in Groningen. However, the rents are more expensive than in Germany (around 350-500 euros) and most of them requires a deposit up to 1000 euros. Finally, I decided to search for a WG and I found my room from one of the Facebook groups (Student rooms Groningen). Kamernet.nl is also a useful website when you are searching for a student room. Make sure that the room you want to rent is possible to register to the city which you need to do for your internship.

Transportation